St. James's Park
Created as a deer park for Henry VIII, St. James's Park in London is a vast, landscaped area, a stark contrast to the bustling capital city. Extensively remodelled in the 1820s, there is a lake, wildlife, playground, cafes, and The Mall, leading to Buckingham Palace. The park is host to an ever changing variety of entertainment acts and sideshows, making it a unique experience.
Next to Duck Island Cottage at the lake, there are resident pelicans. A Russian ambassador gifted some pelicans to the city in 1684, and their ancestors are fed every afternoon, which draws a large crowd.
During the summer the bandstand is the location of free concerts, and deckchairs are available in which to relax. Guided walks around the park start from this point.
Around St. James's Park there are numerous snack kiosks and a licensed restaurant. Such a scenic location is perfect for bringing a picnic though. Toilets and baby change facilities are located next to the adventure playground.
The Horseguards Parade is the ground where the Queen's Guards can be seen holding the Trooping of the Colour ceremonies. This ground dates back to the 18th century, and can be found at the start of The Mall.
For stunning views and photo opportunities, visitors should walk along the Blue Bridge. Here it is possible to see the Horse Guards, Buckingham Palace, Whitehall and the London Eye.
Due to the flat paths, St. James's Park is suitable for wheelchair users and visitors with prams.