The first castle was built at Warwick by William the Conqueror in 1068. Many changes and additions were made subsequently to the castle’s defences including the massive gatehouse and barbican, and the two towers that still adorn the castle today. As the importance of the castle as a military stronghold diminished, the main living areas were converted into a luxurious residence.
The Earls of Warwick made the castle their official place of residence until 1978, when it was bought by the Tussaud's Group. The castle has undergone extensive restoration since then, and the castle is now a show case for displays of different periods of its history.
A top attraction at the castle is the newly opened dungeons. In true dungeon style the exhibits are meant to frighten and children under 15 must be accompanied by an adult. There is an additional charge to enter the dungeons. Wheelchair users can gain free entry as some parts of the display are inaccessible to them but this must be booked in advance.
As befits a former military establishment Warwick Castle has on display the world’s largest siege machine, the Trebuchet. To further experience what life must have been like during the days of warfare, visitors can learn the skills of an archer or take a trip up to the top of the towers and ramparts.
The castle owners go out of their way to provide entertainment for children. There are many displays relating to classic fairytales such as The Princess and the Pea and The Frog Prince, and children can get to try on costumes of their favourite characters.
As part of an ongoing restoration programme the castle has refurbished most of the rooms in the castle and these are now open to the public. It is possible to walk through the State Rooms, in which important guests were received and entertained, and see the rooms in which Daisy, Countess of Warwick, hosted a party for the Prince of Wales in 1898. Most of the furnishings and artefacts are original and are in the positions they were at during the party.
The grounds house a conservatory, a Victorian rose garden and the Peacock Garden which has Cedars of Lebanon which are more than 200 hundred years old.
Visitors have a choice of locations when it comes to eating and drinking. There are 2 restaurants and several venues serving light refreshments.
0870 442 2000